My father, God bless his soul, once gave me a recipe from Parade for making oatmeal.  He gave it to me about 10 years ago and I’ve kept it tucked away in an envelope with other recipes I’ve collected over the years.  Only within the last six months have I made time for oatmeal.  I’m sure glad I did!

Not only is a bit less expensive than buying it from the store, especially if buy the ingredients in bulk from places like Costco or online, but it’s customizable!  It also makes your home smell fantastic!

So, without further ado, here is the recipe:

photo (16)

photo (20)

So far I’ve only made the classic granola twice.  This last time I doubled the recipe and tried to substitute ¼ cup of maple syrup for brown rice syrup.  I didn’t have brown sugar so I added 1 tablespoon of molasses to a ¼ cup of white sugar.  I also added about 2 teaspoons of corn syrup because last time I thought the oats didn’t clump together well enough.  Each of these times I also substituted wheat germ for wheat bran because I didn’t have any.

The last batch I made turned out a bit over roasted.  It’s not bad but if you’re more of a medium roast coffee drinker than a dark roast you’ll know what I mean.  I’m not sure why it roasted so well, it could have been something I added or maybe I need to turn the oven temp down from around 270 to 250 and cook it a little longer.

They’ve all been nice and crunchy.  The first batch was a little too sweet.  The second batch I cut back on the maple syrup a bit but that resulted in less of the clumpy goodness.

Whatever you decide to joy, I hope you’ll enjoy it as much as I do!

photo (18)

photo (23)

photo (17)

I tried to stir in a little sunshine!

photo (19)

This batch is raison-blueberry with coconut, sunflower seeds and almonds.

photo (21)

This batch is cherry-raison.

i_love_oatmeal_card-p137810592190570275q6k5_400

